Law Council of Australia


The Mahla Pearlman Australian Young Environmental Lawyer of the Year announced

16 April 2020

The 2020 Mahla Pearlman Australian Young Environmental Lawyer of the Year has been awarded to Hubert Algie.

A lawyer with the Melbourne based, specialist environment law firm Kellehers Australia, Mr Algie not only works in a busy legal practice, but is an active contributor to the Law Institute of Victoria through the Planning and Local Government Committee, the Environmental Issue Committee and the Property and Environmental Law Section Executive Committee. He is also a member of the Victorian Planning and Environmental Law Association (VPELA) Young Professional Group.

Law Council of Australia President, Pauline Wright, said Mr Algie was a well deserving recipient whose passion for environmental law is reflected not only in his work but in his commitment to the education of the next generation of environmental lawyers.

“Mr Algie is an incredibly accomplished young lawyer who has an enthusiasm and obvious talent for town planning, property and environmental matters,” Ms Wright said.

“He also illustrates a determination and commitment to teaching the next generation of environmental lawyers.”

Ms Robyn Glindemann, Chair of the Australian Environment and Planning Law Group, said Mr Algie was a very worthy recipient of this year’s award.

“The Law Council received a number of outstanding nominations this year from all around the country which is a tremendous reflection of the quality of young environmental lawyers in Australia,” Ms Glindermann said.

“Hubert’s teaching commitments at Humboldt University in Berlin and as the convenor of the Monash Climate Justice Clinic, where he is clearly delivering terrific results, elevated his nomination,” Ms Glindemann said.

Conducted annually by the Australian Environment and Planning Law Group of the Law Council's Legal Practice Section, the Mahla Pearlman Award is presented to a lawyer under the age of 35 who has made a significant contribution to environmental law.

The award is named in honour of the former Chief Judge of the Land and Environment Court of New South Wales, and former President of the Law Council of Australia, the late honourable Mahla Pearlman AO.


Dr Fiona Wade
P. 0419 097 896


Related Documents

Most recent items

Trending Items