Law Council of Australia


Excellent appointments to the Federal Court and Federal Circuit Court of Australia

25 July 2021

The Law Council of Australia congratulates Ms Kylie Elizabeth Downes QC on her appointment as a justice of the Federal Court of Australia and Ms Meredith Dickson QC, Ms Patricia Cope, Mr Jonathan Forbes and Ms Catherine Symons on their appointments as judges of the Federal Circuit Court of Australia; all commence tomorrow, 26 July 2021.

President of the Law Council, Dr Jacoba Brasch QC said, “These are excellent appointments, and all are highly qualified members of the profession.

“Ms Downes QC will be located at the Brisbane Registry of the Federal Court of Australia and is replacing Justice John Reeves following his retirement.

“As for the Federal Circuit Court, Ms Dickson QC will join the Adelaide Registry, Mr Forbes and Ms Symonds will be in Melbourne, and Ms Cope replaces the Court’s long-term resident judge in Cairns, Judge Josephine Willis AM, who is relocating to Brisbane.

“The Law Council has long called for the timely replacement of retiring judicial officers. I acknowledge both the timeliness of the Attorney-General’s actions and the quality calibre of the appointees.

“The Law Council looks forward to the contribution that they each will make to the judiciary, to upholding the administration of justice and serving the Australian community in the important areas of law, in which they will sit.”


Dr Fiona Wade
P. 0403 810 865


Related Documents

Most recent items

Trending Items